Johnson Will Represent WCEC in Washington, D.C.

Cloyee’ Glen Johnson, age 16, and a Sophomore at All Saints Episcopal School in Tyler, TX has taken first place in Wood County Electric Cooperative’s essay contest. As the contest winner, she will represent WCEC at the Government in Action Youth Tour in Washington, D. C., in June.

Johnson was chosen based on her essay submission, which described the cooperative principle of Education, Training and Information, and what it meant to her. She is the daughter of Craig and Sherry Johnson of Quitman, TX and the granddaughter of Tomie Johnson, and the late Glen Johnson of Quitman, Texas and Leon and Marie Nantz, of Mt. Vernon, Texas.

She participates in Green Club, Culinary Club, Art Club, History Club, Los Amigos Spanish Club, accomplished Dancer of 13 years at Dance-N-Drill Studio, was NCA All American Cheerleader four consecutive years and is a Varsity Cheerleader at ASES. She is also an accomplished sculpture and her most recent piece advanced to the TAPPS State Competition in Austin. Of her achievement, Johnson’s mother Sherry said, “We’re extremely proud of Cloyee’ and all of her accomplishments, but more importantly, of the wonderful young and woman she is becoming.”

Johnson will travel to Washington, D.C. with approximately 90 other Youth Tour winners from other Texas Electric Cooperatives. She will have the opportunity to meet congressional representatives, and visit historic memorials and cultural centers in our nations’ capitol.

WCEC CEO/General Manager Debbie Robinson said, “Over the years, we’ve seen the tremendous impact this program has made in the lives of participants. The leadership skills and experience should reap lifelong rewards. I congratulate Cloyee’, and I’m confident she will represent our members and East Texas with distinction.”

Wood County Electric Cooperative, Inc. is a not-for-profit electric cooperative with the mission of providing member-customers reliable electric service at a reasonable rate. WCEC serves over 33,000 meters in parts of nine counties throughout northeast Texas, including Camp, Franklin, Hopkins, Rains, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.