New WCEC Headquarters Open For Business

WCEC served first members in new building on February 19

On Tuesday, February 19, 2013, Wood County Electric Cooperative (WCEC) began serving members from the new headquarters building that has been in construction since May of 2013. The new building is on the cooperative’s existing property at 501 S. Main Street in Quitman. The entrance to the parking area is on S. Main Street, also known as HWY 37.

The first week in March demolition of the remaining old buildings will begin to make way for the new double lane drive-thru. Once complete the drive-thru will allow much quicker service while also relieving congestion on Highway 37 because this entrance will be on Horton Street. It is expected that the new drive-thru, which will be a double lane, will take approximately two months to complete. Until then, drive-thru service will not be available.

In the interim, for payments, there is a drop box located in the new parking lot. Payments can also be made inside the new office, at the Mobile Convenience Center, online at, or with our Mobile Bill Paying App. SmartPower cards can be revalued at any of the nine kiosks and inside the new headquarters at the cashier’s desk.

Of note, the old historical neon WCEC sign shone from the old building for the last time on Friday, Feb 8, when it was removed for restoration. Once restored, it will be placed in the landscaping on cooperative grounds.

Of the move-in, Debbie Robinson, CEO and GM of WCEC said, “Our employees are enthusiastic about the opening and look forward to serving members from this new facility. Members will find parking and access much more favorable, and we can’t wait for them to experience the new building.”

Wood County Electric Cooperative, Inc. is a not-for-profit electric cooperative with the mission of providing member-customers reliable electric service at a reasonable rate. WCEC serves over 33,000 meters in parts of nine counties throughout northeast Texas, including Camp, Franklin, Hopkins, Rains, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.