WCEC Awards $11,000 to East Texas Students

A panel of 3 independent judges recently awarded $11,000 in scholarships to local high school seniors as part of Wood County Electric Cooperative’s (WCEC) “Power My World” scholarship program. Eleven high school students residing within WCEC’s 9-county service area will each receive a $1,000 scholarship for continuing education. This program is funded by unclaimed capital credit payments returned to the cooperative by the state.

The independent judges were WCEC members: Delene Allen, Mineola, JaneAnne Newton, Winnsboro; and Glenda Schill, Quitman. Each judge was tasked with reviewing the essay submissions, accompanying academic records, and lists of civic and community achievements to determine the winners.

Based on their exceptional work and achievements, the 2020 Power My World college scholarship recipients are: Colby Bain, Fruitvale High School; Austin Brown, Van High School; Montanna Gambino, Abeka Academy; Jentri Jackson, Quitman High School; J’Cea Melton, Grand Saline High School; Hope Reeves, Victory Christian Academy; Amanda Santoy, Winnsboro High School; Savannah Sauseda, Grand Saline High School; Brooke Vaughn, Mount Pleasant High School and Zachary Willard, Hawkins High School. Additionally, the winner of a $1,000.00 trade school/technical scholarship is Coleman Johnston, Mount Vernon High School.

Of those selected, WCEC CEO/General Manager Trey Teaff said, “Through this annual process we enjoy learning about the community service, talents and ambitions of the young men and women that live in our communities. Their dreams and goals are big, but so are their abilities. As a community we all have a lot to be proud of. We look forward to seeing these students progress in their chosen courses of study and work.”