WCEC Awards $15,000 to East Texas Students

A panel of 3 independent judges recently awarded $15,000 in scholarships to local high school seniors as part of Wood County Electric Cooperative’s (WCEC) “Power My World” scholarship program.  Fifteen high school students residing within WCEC’s 9-county service area will each receive a $1,000 scholarship for continuing education. This program is funded by unclaimed capital credit payments returned to the cooperative by the state.

The independent judges were: Sherri Hawley, Chris Kraemer and Clay Smith. Each judge was tasked with reviewing the essay submissions, accompanying academic records, and the students civic and community involvement, to determine the winners.

Based on their exceptional work and achievements, the 2021 Power My World  scholarship recipients are: Lucy Brannon, Quitman ISD; Ben Brunson, Winnsboro ISD; Cynthia Castillo, Mount Vernon ISD; Bella Crawford, Alba-Golden ISD; Shelby David, Fruitvale ISD; Keren Escudero, Mineola ISD; Addison Fisher, Grand Saline ISD; Citlaly Flores, Quitman ISD; Cameron Gaylean, Alba-Golden ISD; Kaiti Kelley, Quitman ISD; Karlie Lowe, Bullard ISD; Kobe McAdoo, Winnsboro ISD; Savannah Petty, Lindale ISD; Jasper Scharp, Winnsboro ISD; and Olivia Teel, Alba-Golden ISD.

Of those selected, WCEC CEO/General Manager Trey Teaff said, “Every year we look forward to learning more about the exceptional students from our region. The quality of students is a true testament to our education system. All those that applied are to be congratulated for their efforts, and we look forward to seeing their ambitions come to fruition.