Wood County Electric Cooperative Inc. Receives Prestigious Award

Wood County Electric Cooperative Inc. (WCEC) has been honored by the East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) with the Regional Corporate Citizen of the Year Award. The award was presented at ETCOG’s 84th Semi-Annual Board of Directors Meeting on Thursday, March 22, at the Ben E. Keith Distribution Center in Palestine, TX. The ETCOG Special Awards Program was designed to recognize the achievements of regional leaders who have contributed their time, energy, and talents in advancing the cause of regional communication and cooperation in the 14-county East Texas Region. This is the 12th year for these awards.

The Regional Corporate Citizen of the Year award bestowed upon WCEC honors a corporate partner in East Texas that has contributed to the wellbeing of the East Texas region by exemplifying performance excellence. WCEC was nominated for the award by Michael E. Hall, Quitman City Administrator, who remarked, “The Wood County Electric Cooperative is clearly of great service to the Quitman community, Wood County and the East Texas region. The honor is mine in having been able to nominate them and should be ETCOG’s in recognizing their achievements. We are thankful for all they do in providing electric service and development support. WCEC is truly a leader in their community, this region, and their field.”

Nanette C. Sanchez, Associate Director of Transportation ETCOG made the presentation to WCEC, and remarked, “While always focusing on its member’s needs, WCEC also concentrates substantial effort and resources to the economic well-being of the East Texas region.”

Debbie Robinson, CEO and GM for WCEC, joined by WCEC Board Secretary/Treasurer and Representative Lewis Young and WCEC Board Representative Cathy Roberts, received the award on behalf of all cooperative members, employees, and board members. Of the award Robinson said, “This award is truly a credit to our cooperative and we are profoundly humbled and grateful for the recognition. One of our cooperative tenets is to demonstrate concern for the community. To have that work recognized by the East Texas Council of Governments is gratifying on so many levels.”

In addition to the regional Corporate Citizenship award bestowed upon WCEC, others honored at the luncheon meeting included: City of Tyler Mayor Barbara Bass, who received the Regional Statesmanship Award; Mr. Ed Brando, Homeland Security Advisory Committee Chair, East Texas Medical Center who was awarded the Regional Committee Service Award; as well as Elizabeth Jones and Savannah Pacobit, who were co-awarded the ETCOG Employee of the Year.

ETCOG – is a voluntary association of counties, cities, school districts, and special districts within the 14-county East Texas region. ETCOG assists local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. Established in 1970, ETCOG, either directly, or through its contractors, provides programs and services for East Texas seniors, employers, and job seekers. ETCOG and its contractors also build the 9-1-1 emergency call delivery system, provide peace officer training and homeland security planning services, and deliver rural transportation services, business finance programs, and environmental grant funding for the region.

WCEC – is a not-for-profit electric cooperative with the mission of providing member-customers reliable electric service at a reasonable rate. WCEC serves over 33,000 meters in parts of nine counties throughout northeast Texas, including Camp, Franklin, Hopkins, Rains, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.